Peaches for You, Peaches for Me

One of my favorite ways to spend a summer afternoon is at my favorite local farm picking peaches and veggies.  As of last summer, I had never picked my own produce, and it was honestly intimidating at first.  And I’ll admit it, I’m high maintenance in the heat, burn easily and am notoriously squeamish around most bugs: not an ideal scenario for spending time on a farm. Must have gotten it all out of my system last year, because I pick like a pro now! David and I were able to bring home a basket brimming with peaches, two bags of green beans and a few heads of cabbage. Not bad at all!

So, what to do with all these peaches? Well my sister and I cleared Wednesday afternoon to have ourselves a little jam party, a first for both of us! So excited! Have you spent any time picking your own produce this summer? Feel free to share, I’d love to hear about it!

-Kate

3 comments

  1. Barb Massa · · Reply

    beautiful photos, kate

  2. Canning buddy and I turned 10 pounds of raspberries into half a dozen different sorts of raspberry jam last week. Strawberry raspberry jam is drop dead delicious.

  3. I love canning stuff!!! I bet you and Liz had a blast!

Leave a Reply

