Alice’s Tea Cup

Part of why I love living in Princeton is that it sits between two beautiful cities, Philadelphia and New York. Hop on the train and within an hour you can have a big city adventure! (And of course, nothing compares to New York at Christmas time.)  While my friend Ursula and I were taking in the sites, we recharged at our favorite tea spot, Alice’s Tea Cup.

Sure, there are thousands of amazing places to eat in New York, but we keeping coming back to Alice’s Tea Cup because we give ourselves permission to play there. It really is a sort of wonderland! Big, beautiful pots of tea, fancy china and towers of sweets and treats make me feel like a little girl again. Sigh.

Plus, if you ask nicely, they’ll sprinkle you with fairy dust, even if you are a “grown up.”  ( FYI: I’ll never be too old for fairy dust. Just throwing that out there.)

Our table was actually a shadow box, filled with Wonderland themed gems! So much fun!

We started with personal pots of tea, Ursula chose an herbal detox blend and I picked Symphony, a black tea blended with strawberries and chocolate. Heaven in a cup. I also ordered the Warm Pear and Endive Salad (roasted Anjou pears, caramelized red onions, and Stilton cheese over endive and watercress w/ pear dressing. Whew!)

It wouldn’t be a trip to Alice’s without scones! They usually have 6 or so to choose from and we nibbled on the Ham and Cheese and Pumpkin scones. I’m mostly vegetarian at the moment, so I only tried the pumpkin. It was covered in a caramel sauce and had a sort of sticky-pudding-thing happing that was really lovely!

Now, I’m what you might call a cake enthusiast. And I’m not joking around when I say that the Banana Nutella Cake might have been the best cake I’ve ever had. Truly.

Upon tasting this lovely little cake, Ursula and I were literally speechless.  Trust me, that is extremely rare. I think I might have actually teared up a bit. (Haha I joke, but it really is quite special!) I picked up the Alice’s Tea Cup cookbook in the spring and since then have tried out a few of the scone recipes and the Blueberry Lemon Cake was a hit! I’m planning on baking the Banana Nutella for my family on Christmas Eve. I hope they like it as much as I did!

One comment

  1. […] As promised, I have a very special recipe to share with you… Banana Nutella Cake from Alice’s Tea Cup! I baked this beauty of a cake for my family on Christmas Eve and they loved it.  I cut the cake, […]

Leave a Reply

