Mittens and Macarons

Let it be known that I love giving gifts. I think my favorite part of celebrations (be it birthdays or Christmas, etc.) is watching the people I love open their little parcels. Of course, the best kind of gift is a surprise gift, and I love giving those the most! However, this week the tables were turned and I was the giftie! Gift receiver? Ah whatever!

My sister, Liz, surprised me with hand knit mittens! She followed our grandma’s secret “mitten recipe” for them and then flourished them a bit with ruffled cuffs. Oo la la! Fancy! They’re so soft and warm, perfect for frosty Princeton winters. I can’t wait to wear them!

She also got David a beautiful cookbook, Handheld Pies by Sarah Billingsley and Rachel Wharton.  Every single recipe looks drool worthy. I have no idea which one to bake first! I think it’s between the “Buttermilk-Whiskey Pie” (with a yummy flaky crust) and the “Grasshopper Pie” (that you bake in a jar! Teeny tiny jar pies! Eeep!). FYI, this would make a killer holiday gift for foodies!

And if that wasn’t enough, my Dad picked out some macarons for me while on a business trip in Paris!  Before he left, were talking about how much we enjoyed the city (and the macarons, too!)  It was so thoughtful of him and get this- he nearly missed his flight back home to get them! They’re almost too pretty to eat, but I think I can grin and bare it.

I’m expecting another gift coming this afternoon, my best friend Ursula! While we talk online daily, we haven’t seen each other in person for over a year! I’m so excited to see her, and we’ll be heading over to my parents’ house with David tonight for tea. And I have the perfect dessert to bring! Perfection!

2 comments

  1. Those are huge macarons!!! Om nom nom!!!

    1. They were GIANT, MONSTER macarons!

Leave a Reply

